Minnesota Destinations

Research Natural Areas (RNAs)


Research Natural Areas (RNAs) are sites that have been selected to preserve significant natural ecosystems and gene pools, and to provide areas for ecological and environmental studies. They are managed by many federal agencies, including the USDA Forest Service, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Bureau of Land Management.

There are currently 13 NWRs in the state. Hiking, birding, hunting, fishing, wildlife observation, and photography are permitted but require permission.

USDA Forest Service
Individuals wanting to visit an RNA in a national forest should contact the local National Forest District Ranger office for access information.



Chippewa National Forest

Battle Point RNA

Clustered Bur Reed RNA

Pine Point RNA

Stony Point RNA


Superior National Forest

Keeley Creek RNA

Lac La Croix RNA

Marble Lake Lookout RNA

Schroeder RNA

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Rice Lake NWR

Rice Lake RNA


Sherburne NWR

Santiago Oak Savanna RNA


Tamarac NWR

Height of Land RNA

Sugarbush RNA


Upper Mississippi NWR

Reno Bottoms RNA


Last Updated:

About Us | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © MinnesotaSeasons.com. All rights reserved.